Seven from ’10.

In honor of the Oscar nominations announced on Tuesday, I thought I’d finally write up my “Best Movies of 2010” list.

But, first, a few thoughts on the Oscars…

Turning art into a competition is pointless. And the Oscars are probably more about popularity than art, anyway. That said, I like that the Oscar hype can shine a light on smaller movies. For example, since it is now a “Best Picture” nominee, maybe 127 Hours will finally make it to a movie theater in Birmingham, Alabama.

I also seem to be “up” on the Oscars more than usual this year. I’ve seen nine of the ten “Best Picture” nominees and all of the “Best Cinematography” contenders. There’s plenty of good stuff in both categories. If I were pulling for anybody, it’d be True Grit cinematographer Roger Deakins, who is way past due for Academy recognition.

Anyway, here are my favorite flicks released in 2010. Please note, the usual disclaimers (I didn’t see every movie that came out, these are just my personal favorites) apply…

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World. Maybe the most kinetic movie I’ve ever seen–this thing just moves. Charming cast, brilliant direction from Edgar Wright, amazing soundtrack… it’s a sweet, funny, unique movie, and it’s my pick for “Best Picture” of 2010.

Scott Pilgrim and Ramona Flowers

Black Swan. It sucked me in an freaked me out. Darren Aronofsky made a movie that feels like a sister film to his Wrestler, but it’s even better. And much stranger.

True Grit. Another brilliant movie from the Coen Brothers? Not exactly surprising. But it’s nice to see one of their movies make a ton of money at the box office. I wonder if someone will let them make To the White Sea now. Oh, apparently not.

Splice. It’s like if Cronenberg made a Frankenstein movie. And it’s probably the most messed-up flick I’ve ever seen in a multiplex.

The Town. A crackerjack crime/suspense drama. With this movie and Gone Baby Gone, Ben Affleck has proven himself to be a heck of a director.

Easy A. Funny and charming post-John Hughes high school comedy.

How to Train Your Dragon. I would not have predicted that Dreamworks Animation would release a better movie than Pixar in 2010. But that’s what happened. Toy Story 3 is fine, but Dragon is better. I just hate I missed it at the theater.

A few honorable mentions: Megamind, Greenberg, Despicable Me, The Social Network, The King’s Speech.

Movie from 2010 on Netflix “Watch Instantly” that I need to at least “Watch ASAP”: Dogtooth.

Watched January 25…

I’ve been reading about how great Winter’s Bone is for months. Now that I’ve finally seen it, I don’t get the hype. I kind of hated it. Winter’s Bone has that Salt problem where the characters spend most of the movie behaving in ways that don’t make any sense. At least it’s well-photographed for the most part.

Also…

For any zombie-bargain hunters out there… Hide and Creep is going for less than seven bucks on Amazon at the moment. Oops… it went back up to $17.99 before I could publish this post.

Speaking of Hide… anybody else get DVD promotional emails from Amazon with the subject line “Amazon.com: Hide And Creep?” Or do they just send those to me for some reason?

Honda Element accessories. I think I need to get a roof rack before the Delicate Cutters play another out-of-town gig. Or maybe a trailer hitch.

Something else that would make gigging out easier: Nesting drum kits! They’re pricey though.

Speaking of drums… Groove wedge? TomBourine?

This is about my speed: old-school video games at GOG.com. Too bad the stuff there is Windows-only. But I guess I’d be willing to dual-boot the iMac to play a little Zork. (via Chris)

This made me laugh out loud. Literally. The State of the Web, Winter 2010. (via Wade)

Will Harvey “Scissorhands” Weinstein cut the f*** out of The King’s Speech? (via Roger Ebert)

Well, no, I don’t need a new stills camera. But this digital shooter from Fujifilm looks retro-tastic.

Two guys versus a computer? On Jeopardy? I’m getting a nerd John Henry vibe.

Oh. So this is how you get the CSS “max-width” property to work in stupid Internet Explorer…

p {
border:1px solid red;
max-width:800px;
width:expression(document.body.clientWidth > 800? “800px”: “auto” );
}

Have a good weekend. (And don’t forget to follow me on Twitter.)

Leave a Reply

