Tiny camera.

Since, as I posted recently, it now supports 25 frames-per-second recording, I decided to order a GoPro HD for use as a “crash” cam. Upon opening the package, I was surprised at the camera’s simplicity (two buttons, one LED light, no knobs or dials, no on-board monitor) and size (it’s very small, even with the waterproof housing).

I shot a little test footage with the camera. It records to some sort of MP4 format which Compressor easily converted to an Apple ProRes 422 file. Then I used Cinema Tools to conform that 25 fps ProRes file to 23.976 fps (“24p”). So I’ve already worked out a worst-case workflow.

GoPro HD in the palm of my hand

As soon as I shoot some halfway interesting test footage, I’ll post it.

Also…

A battery-powered hard disk that streams media files to any computer or iPhone/iPad? Yeah, I want one.

Some Super 16mm footage shot with anamorphic lenses (extra-wide!).

Leave a Reply

