To “B” or not to “B.”

Last week, someone posted a question on the Cinematography.com message board: “How can ‘B’ movies exist?” The poster went on to explain that “B” movies make him “sad,” as they are such an affront to the tradition of great cinema.

Plan 9

This is a pretty naive question, but I thought I’d post a polite response instead of following standard internet protocol (starting a flame war with the guy who asked the naive question). I replied…

I have financed two “B” movies with my personal credit cards. Okay, the budgets were very low (I’m not rich), so maybe they’re “C” movies.

Neither film was hugely successful, but neither were total failures. The first, Hide and Creep, played on the Sci Fi (now SyFy) channel a few times. It’s now streaming (legally) on YouTube. The second, Interplanetary, will be available soon via Netflix “Watch Instantly.”

Why did I make these movies? Because I love films and I love making films. Both movies were shot on nights and weekends. Most of the cast and crew were people, like me, with more enthusiasm than filmmaking experience.

My original post went on for several more paragraphs. If you’re interested in “B” movies and how they get made, you might want to read the whole thread.

Also…

Did I mention my band Delicate Cutters has a new album? It’s called Some Creatures, and you can preview the whole thing at ModMobilian.com.

Hopefully coming soon to your neighborhood: super WiFi. (via Juan and Slashdot)

This might be my favorite iPhone app ever: 8mm Vintage Camera.

Justin Timberlake’s most recent SNL monologue.

One Comment on “To “B” or not to “B.””

  1. wayneshirley says:

    ..Naive? “Clueless” would have been more appropriate. Is there any field of undertaking that doesn’t have it’s “B” category?

    From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/B_movie

    “many B movies display a high degree of craft and aesthetic ingenuity”

    “From their beginnings to the present day, B movies have provided opportunities both for those coming up in the profession and others whose careers are waning. Celebrated filmmakers such as Anthony Mann and Jonathan Demme learned their craft in B movies.”

    ..etc., etc., etc.


Leave a Reply

